Skip to main content.


Many religions cover the world, with a new cult or two springing up constantly, but the official religion of the Compact and the five kingdoms of Arvum is the worship of the Pantheon. Like many polytheistic societies, the citizens of the Compact tend not to devote themselves to any one god or goddess (though many families may select a patron), but rather worship a god based upon the occasion and need with the priesthood of the Pantheon leading services for any of the deities and serving all the gods rather than acting as specific disciples. All priests of the Pantheon are capable of performing services for any of the deities, most without any degree of specialization, though disciples venerating one god over others is not unheard of, and the Thirteenth in particular has a disturbing core of adherents.

The Pantheon is often represented by a trio of interlocking circles, each circle in turn representing a triad of deities. They are as follows.

The Triad of Creation:
Mangata, goddess of the sea, air, the daytime sky, and light.
Petrichor, god of the forests, soil, mountains and some argue all of nature.
Lagoma, goddess of the seasons, change, growth and fire.

The Triad of Arts and Science:
Vellichor, god of knowledge, learning, and history.
Gloria, goddess of war, strategy, planning, chivalry, and honor.
Jayus, god of artistry, including crafts, inspiration, dreams, music.

The Triad of Concepts:
Limerance, god of love, marriage, fidelity.
The Sentinel, god of justice, law and order.
Gild, goddess of commerce, travel, civilization, banking, and wealth.

*The Triad of the Lost:
Skald, the First Choice, god of freedom, free will, and choice.
Death, the Queen of Endings and Mother of Beginning, goddess of souls.
Aion, the Dreamer, deity of all creation.

And finally the Thirteenth, the dark god of reflection. There's evidence that states the god was referred by that number long before the Reckoning, when some other gods were worshipped that have been lost to the passage of time. The worship of Tehom the Thirteenth God (who is seldom invoked by name, lest one gains his attention) is more a matter of homage to avoid ill luck, as he represents duality, the corruption of concepts, and dark mirror of things. The southern city states of the Lyceum are an exception among the Compact in they believe his worship is more of a positive matter, by being able to positively channel one's passions. But for most, he is little worshipped outside of funeral rights as loved ones pass to the other side of the mirror.

*Skald, Death, and Aion are also known as the Lost Gods. Their names were forgotten for centuries, and they were only remembered by their sigils in the Shrine of the Lost in Arx. They were returned to the Pantheon in 1006 AR by Dominus Aldwin Aurum and placed into the existing Triads of the Faith to form Tetrads: Skald in Concepts, Death in Creation, and Aion in Arts and Science. In 1009 AR, Dominus Aldwin revised this decision by returning the Tetrads to their original state and forming a fourth Triad of the Lost.